FAA Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award

Dating back to 1962, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) recognizes the efforts of pilots who have followed and continue to follow the precaution and awareness of safe flight operations. Most of all, the FAA recognizes pilots who have contributed and maintained safe flight operations for 50 or more consecutive years of piloting aircraft. Therefore, the FAA has a program to recognize those pilots who have 50 or more consecutive years of safe flight operations: the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award Program.

To be eligible for the Wright Brothers MPA, candidates must:

  •  Hold a U.S. Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) or Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pilot certificate.
        Have 50 or more years of civil and military piloting experience or 50 or more years combined experience in both piloting and aircraft operations.
            Up to 20 years of the required 50 years may be U.S. military experience.
            The effective start date for the 50 years is the date of the nominee’s first solo flight or military equivalent.
            The 50 years may be computed consecutively or non-consecutively.
        Be a U.S. citizen.
        Have NOT had any airman certificate revoked.

        Note: Revocation of any airman certificate will disqualify a nominee for this award.

For more information about eligibility and to nominate a fellow pilot, click here to download the submission forms.

If you're a NAFI Member, have been awarded the Wright Brothers Award, and would like to be featured on this page please contact us at [email protected]

NAFI Congratulates all those that have received The FAA Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award, and would like to recognize the NAFI members who have received this distinguished award!

NAFI Member Recipients of the FAA Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award:

James "Steve" Rutland NAFI#16626

James R Gaasedelen NAFI#223932

James Gaasedekeb MPA

Raymond E. Heyde NAFI#225610

Raymond Heyde MPA

Raymond Heyde MPA

William Diaz Jr. NAFI#215692

William Diaz MPAWilliam Diaz MPA

William G. Girard NAFI#215592

William Girard NAFI Wright Brothers award

William Girard MPA

Ronald Shintaku NAFI#3801

Ronald Shintaku Master Pilot Award

Mike Windom NAFI#12404

Mike Windom MPA


Thomas H Deutsch NAFI#229672

Dallas Enger NAFI#228797

Jeff Abrams NAFI#224124

Leo R. Berube NAFI#19840

David W. Sullivan NAFI#216713

Joseph C. Baginski NAFI#219703

John L. Keller NAFI#221116

NAFI Chairman Emeritus 
Kenneth E. Hoffman NAFI#

Ken Hoffman Chairman Emeritus

Charles H. Bowser NAFI#215395

Edwin J. Brown NAFI#27695

Brown MPABrown MPA







Mike Alakszay NAFI#4137


James R. Powers NAFI#25848







Wallace J. Moran NAFI#14064

moran mpa

Lloyd Probst NAFI#7222

Richard Calarco NAFI#210120

For a complete list of recipients of the Master Pilot Award, please click here to go to the FAA Dedicated website.